Ferrari 308 2v engine mods | FerrariChat

Ferrari 308 2v engine mods

Discussion in '308/328' started by petesamsonite, Feb 16, 2017.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. petesamsonite

petesamsonite Karting

Jul 11, 2013
    Hello! Im not a mechanic, i have somebody else for that, but i have to order the parts, i have an extra 2v 308 fuel injected engine that i want to build to FIA spec for my carbed racecar, what are the main differences between carbed and fuel injected models and what do i need to reach about 320hp on the crank.

Thankful for all info!

Skickat från min iPhone med Tapatalk

2. smg2

smg2 F1 World Champ
    Sponsor

Apr 1, 2004
    Dumpster Fire #31
    Full Name:
    SMG
    Welcome..

The 2V can achieve ~320Hp at the crank. Keep in mind though it'll be a very peaky TQ curve, as in power will be from 5k to 8k rpm. Carb'd would be the easier route to go and probably a bit less expensive, EFI would be required to reach 300+Hp.
    High comp pistons, range 10:1 ~ 12:1 depending on cam profile
    shim under bucket followers and new springs

You could copy the Le Mans spec engine builds from the 308GT4.

3. petesamsonite

petesamsonite Karting

Jul 11, 2013
    But didnt michelotto carb cars have 320hp at the crank?

4. petesamsonite

petesamsonite Karting

Jul 11, 2013
    And the spare engine i have is fuel injected, can i put carbs on that without major mods

5. chrismorse

chrismorse Formula 3

Feb 16, 2004
    way north california
    Full Name:
    chris morse
    IIRC, the bottom end is the same, with the same compression ratio, but much more conservative cam timing to work with the CIS. You are going to have to do a full set of cams, likely a fair amount of porting work, possibly increasing the intake valve size. At the very least, you are going to want to get rid of the old sodium valves.