Front Suspension seems... wrong. | FerrariChat

Front Suspension seems... wrong.

Discussion in '308/328' started by thorn, Aug 15, 2017.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. thorn

thorn F1 Rookie
    Silver Subscribed

Aug 7, 2012
    Tallahassee, FL
    #1 thorn, Aug 15, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
    On my 85 Euro:

I'm not a mechanic, of course. But sometimes you see something and think "Hm. That doesn't look right."

I don't know what to call all these parts, but have taken a picture of the front right-side suspension.

Where the black rod goes into the white thing (circled in pic) - I'm concerned that this rubber bushing is just - I don't know, broken, or incomplete, or installed wrong. I can push that rubber cone back into place, but after a drive it works itself out again. The parts on the left side look just like this, same issue on both sides.

I'd start looking at getting 2 replacement parts and just taking stuff apart, but not sure what it's supposed to look like - or heck, if this is normal. Or even what parts I'm after. Thoughts and opinions?
    Image Unavailable, Please Login

2. wildcat326

wildcat326 Formula 3
    Silver Subscribed

Dec 10, 2012
    Chicago, IL
    Full Name:
    Justin
    #2 wildcat326, Aug 15, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2017
    It's not right. There should be a shoulder or thick disc washer at the end of the sway bar that holds the two tapered bushings captive. Looks like you're missing the two disc washers on each side. They're actually an exotic dimension and not the easiest to find:(

3. wildcat326

wildcat326 Formula 3
    Silver Subscribed

Dec 10, 2012
    Chicago, IL
    Full Name:
    Justin
    #3 wildcat326, Aug 15, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017