Changing 355 gear oil step by step | FerrariChat

Changing 355 gear oil step by step

Discussion in '348/355' started by butch355, Dec 20, 2007.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. butch355

butch355 Karting

Jan 27, 2005
    Denver
    Full Name:
    Brent
    #1 butch355, Dec 20, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
    Well after searching the forum on all the gear oil posts I didnt see one on step by step changing the gear oil. First off I am no expert and will share everything I learned from this little adventure. I posted a similar post on 355 oil change but didnt post pics sorry. I know this might seem easy to most of you, but some of us are a little gun shy of tearing into a $80,000 car!! Hope this helps!

First off you will need a set of large allen type heads that attach to your socket for the drain and fill pug. (Harbor Frieght) $10.

You also will need a long funnel to get the oil into the gear box (any tranny funnel works good!)

Something to collect the gear oil.

And finally the gear oil. I used Redline Lightweight Shockproof $10-$15 per quart (Many other posts on this topic). I talked to the dealer (FOD) and he said to be safe add some limited slip additive. I used the BG additive $10. My car used 5 quarts of the oil and the additive to get the perfect fill mark.

First off drive your car or get it up to temp to get the oil warm.

1. You will need to remove the drivers side air filter box to get access to the filler plug and dip stick (need one of those large allen heads). I would do this first to make sure you can get it off because mine the dealer put on with so tight I had to use my AIR TOOLS to remove. Kinda tight in there and I couldnt get enough leverage to get the damn thing off. THANK GOD the air tool broke it loose! Also, be careful taking off the air box not to loose the washers and the nuts, they are small!!