348 temperature gauge reading low/ under reading SOLVED! | FerrariChat

348 temperature gauge reading low/ under reading SOLVED!

Discussion in '348/355' started by Davsk1, Feb 24, 2017.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Davsk1

Davsk1 Karting

May 10, 2016
    Lincolnshire UK
    Full Name:
    Dave
    #1 Davsk1, Feb 24, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
    Hi guys,

This has been puzzling me for some time finally found the problem and it was so stupidly simple and more importantly, absolutely zero cost to fix!

Being electrical engineer by trade I'd been around everything electrically checking for bad earths, bad sensor, bad connections, bad cabling and could not find anything wrong. Impedance measurements on the instrument all appeared normal. Thermostat checked all perfect.

Yet it would only register around 65degrees C when fully warm.

I figured the only thing I could do was gently prise the needle off and replace it in the right place at a known temperature.

Did this and it has solved the problem. Still puzzled as to how it got like that as I can't believe it left the factory like that. The only thing I can think is that it has slowly slid round the pin under the spring tension against the end stop of the gauge over time (27 years) maybe when exposed to high cabin temperatures.
    Image Unavailable, Please Login

2. c7matt

c7matt Formula Junior

Mar 3, 2016
    Greater Detroit, MI
    wow, brilliant! Great find.

3. Qavion

Qavion F1 World Champ
    Silver Subscribed

Feb 20, 2015
    Sydney
    Full Name:
    Ian Riddell
    +1

Did you do anything to try to stop it happening again? A dab of Loctite or something?

4. Davsk1

Davsk1 Karting

May 10, 2016
    Lincolnshire UK
    Full Name:
    Dave
    No, I thought about it but then its not a big job if it drifts again, then will consider some bonding :)

5. John_K_348

John_K_348 F1 Rookie

Sep 20, 2013