Go Back   FerrariChat.com > Model Specific Discussions > 348/355 - Sponsored by Bradan

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 05-29-2017, 10:47 AM
Formula Junior
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sydney
Full Name: Ian Riddell
Posts: 688
F355 5.2 Engine/ECU Harness Change

Just wondering if anyone has attempted to change the ECU harness on a 355 without pulling the engine out? I discovered one of the previous owners had fitted the wrong one (and is also showing signs of damaged insulation and numerous repairs). I've ordered a new one, but it has to come from the factory, so may take a while to arrive. In the meantime, I pulled the cover off the engine "V", but it offered limited access. Also, it looks like it will be a nightmare to pull through the firewall.

A while ago, I saw a forum message thread on fitting an inline disconnect, but I can't find it again. I was thinking about fitting an aircraft-grade plug, but I'm not sure if I want to try it on a new harness... maybe practice on the old one.

Any tips (e.g. don't do it!)?

Thanks,
Cheers
Ian
Reply With Quote
Non-Sponsor Ads
  #2  
Old 05-29-2017, 11:05 AM
yelcab's Avatar
F1 Veteran
Consultant
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Carlos, CA
Full Name: Mitchell Le
Posts: 7,338
impossible
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-29-2017, 02:33 PM
Formula Junior
Silver Subscribed
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Glendale, CA
Full Name: Steve
Posts: 906
Remove gas tank and middle console only and u will be able to remove the wires. The rest are just plastic Riggs and 8/10 mm nuts
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-29-2017, 04:47 PM
Formula Junior
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sydney
Full Name: Ian Riddell
Posts: 688
Thanks, gents... I don't have the facilities for removing the gas tank, so I'm going with Mitchell on this one It's good to know there are alternatives, however, and may be a cheaper option if the harness gets worse prior to my next major.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-29-2017, 11:45 PM
taz355's Avatar
F1 Rookie
Silver Subscribed
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Indio Ca/ Alberta
Full Name: Grant
Posts: 2,752
I could not do it. It was very difficult just to get it in and out while doing the engine.
I am withMitchell not a chance. Mine was very stiff and not very flexible.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-30-2017, 07:54 AM
Formula Junior
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sydney
Full Name: Ian Riddell
Posts: 688
Thanks, Grant.

Saving my pennies for my first major...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-19-2017, 07:27 PM
Formula Junior
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sydney
Full Name: Ian Riddell
Posts: 688
Gents... Just received my new harness in the mail from Eurospares. I was surprised at how flexible it is. I'm wondering if heat and age make them so unmanageable. When I saw how small the Ferrari box was, I started to wonder if they'd sent the right harness, but it was in there and completely unstressed/unforced.

I won't take any chances, though

Cheers
Ian
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 PM.


FerrariChat.com has no association with Ferrari S.p.A.
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.