Go Back   FerrariChat.com > Model Specific Discussions > 348/355 - Sponsored by Bradan

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 07-10-2017, 03:37 PM
Karting
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Full Name: Klas Nilsson
Posts: 179
F355 M5:2. Fuse to accelerometer

Which fuse is connected to the front accelerometer? It's not stated in the fuse-drawings, but I think one of the fuses for other items in the front fuse box has double jobs.
Reply With Quote
Non-Sponsor Ads
  #2  
Old 07-10-2017, 08:10 PM
Formula Junior
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sydney
Full Name: Ian Riddell
Posts: 737
Which one, Klas?

The horizontal sensor gets its power from the Bilstein Control Unit.
The vertical sensor gets its power from the AC System fuse (which would affect the instruments (including speedo/tacho), aircon, etc)

Sorry, no easy solution here.

Here's the circuit (Note that the immobiliser wiring is still to be completed)...

1997~ 5.2 Suspension System

Cheers,
Ian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-11-2017, 03:36 AM
Karting
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Full Name: Klas Nilsson
Posts: 179
This is the dtc I have:
"0410 Acceleration sensor line h disconnected"

Does it mean "h" as in horizointal?"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-11-2017, 08:41 AM
Formula Junior
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sydney
Full Name: Ian Riddell
Posts: 737
The other possible accelerometer fault message is "acceleration sensor line L not connected", so your logic may not be valid (unless L = vertical in Italian or German).

If you read the manual, you will see that the horizontal sensor only has two states: Open or closed circuit (no acceleration = open circuit). The Bilstein ECU probably can't distinguish between the line being open circuit and the car not accelerating.

Have you tried any wiring checks yet? e.g. plug A pin 2 to earth (ground)? If it's closed circuit, you have a problem with the horizontal sensor (or your car is parked on a very steep hill).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-11-2017, 03:38 PM
Karting
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Full Name: Klas Nilsson
Posts: 179
No, will do wiring checks as "disconnected" can mean bad connection i.e. oxide on a pin. (that was the fault on a door mirror when the adjusting mechanismen did not function) Also, when you stated grounding, you mean the LR coloured wire to the Bilstein A2 pin.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-11-2017, 06:37 PM
Formula Junior
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sydney
Full Name: Ian Riddell
Posts: 737
Quote:
Also, when you stated grounding, you mean the LR coloured wire to the Bilstein A2 pin.
I mean one ohmmeter probe on the blue-red pin and one ohmmeter probe to earth. If you have access to the suspension ECU in the passenger footwell, remove harness plug A, and check the resistance of pin 2 of the harness to a good, known earth. Normally you would expect infinity (unless the diagram and manual are not correct). If there is a relatively low resistance, there could be a shorted wire or faulty sensor. A few weeks ago, I could have confirmed this on my car (it was in pieces). NB: I would advise disconnecting the battery when working on the unit. There is a direct line from the battery to plug A.

To be honest, I would suspect the vertical sensor as being faulty, but it probably has a more complex circuit inside and I wouldn't know how to check it. I seem to recall a post on the forum regarding the internals of the vertical sensor (but I can't find it).

Unless you plan to remove the fuse/relay panel in the forward luggage compartment and start disconnecting plugs, there's probably not much more you can do (other than removing the front bumper to access the sensors).

Anyway, please let us know how you go with the horizontal sensor wiring.

Cheers
Ian.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-12-2017, 12:37 AM
Karting
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Full Name: Klas Nilsson
Posts: 179
Thank's for good input. I'll let you know when I have investigated more.
BR / Klas
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-16-2017, 02:22 PM
Karting
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Full Name: Klas Nilsson
Posts: 179
Which is A and B? The connectors are yellow and green but yellow seems to be A.

Last edited by Klas; 07-16-2017 at 02:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
Non-Sponsor Ads
  #9  
Old 07-17-2017, 02:47 AM
Formula Junior
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sydney
Full Name: Ian Riddell
Posts: 737
Sorry, Klas, not sure. The plug with the least amount of wires is plug "A". Is this yellow?
The "A" plug has 8 pins not used. Plug "B" only has two pins not used.

Cheers
Ian.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-17-2017, 10:13 AM
Karting
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Full Name: Klas Nilsson
Posts: 179
Good point. Will check, but I think I'll measure in the other end at the accelerometer as I want to check the connecor status there anyhow. Can be oxide there. The connector pins are extremly tiny to the control unit.

Also, from where comes the speed signal to the system? Maybe that one is failing as the code says "no signal"
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-17-2017, 10:32 AM
Formula Junior
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sydney
Full Name: Ian Riddell
Posts: 737
The speed signal comes in on the white-yellow wire, plug A, pin14 (from the speedometer). The engine ECU also uses this signal. I assume your speedo is working.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-17-2017, 02:16 PM
Karting
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Full Name: Klas Nilsson
Posts: 179
Aha. Yes it work fine, so then is not a speed signal fault.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-17-2017, 03:41 PM
Formula Junior
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sydney
Full Name: Ian Riddell
Posts: 737
..... unless the wiring from splice 30028 to the suspension ECU is faulty. If you have multiple messages and they're all associated with plug A, there may be a damaged harness.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-19-2017, 02:38 PM
Karting
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Full Name: Klas Nilsson
Posts: 179
Yes, can be the wiring, but I have only these 3 codes:
0410 Acceleration sensor line h disconnected
0408 Right rear actuator locked (works)
0404 Left rear actuator locked (Repaired by CaptainZ)

By that I suspect the accelerometer (vertical or horizonal?) or its connections
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-19-2017, 04:37 PM
Formula Junior
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sydney
Full Name: Ian Riddell
Posts: 737
Quote:
Yes, can be the wiring, but I have only these 3 codes:
Sometimes a wiring harness runs though a firewall or bulkhead where chafing can occur. Sometimes only a few wires are affected. However, the suspension actuators use plug "B", so it's more likely that you have individual problems.

Can you follow the harnesses. Do A & B merge for a short period, then split up again?
Do you have a wire tracker? See this message thread:

Seatbelt Warning Light Cabling

(Edit: actually, looking at that non-related message thread, there is a photo of the suspension unit and it looks like the harnesses go in different directions.)

Last edited by Qavion; 07-19-2017 at 04:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old Yesterday, 06:47 PM
Formula Junior
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sydney
Full Name: Ian Riddell
Posts: 737
Klass, did you confirm that plug "A" was yellow? If so, I can add this detail to the wiring diagram.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Non-Sponsor Ads
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 PM.


FerrariChat.com has no association with Ferrari S.p.A.
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.