Ferrari 360 vs 430 for me! | FerrariChat

Ferrari 360 vs 430 for me!

Discussion in '360/430' started by Bojje, Jul 1, 2012.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Bojje

Bojje Rookie

Jun 30, 2012
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Hello! I'm new to this forum, but I've been a reader for several weeks. It was frustrating though looking at the forums without being a registered member - no pics show up!

I'm a student at the moment, I study mechanical engineering. I currently have an Audi A4 1,9 TDI as a daily and a Ducati 1098S (yes, italian!). I'm selling the bike and I'm starting already saving money for my first Ferrari. Now this is somewhat a long term plan, how long depends on which Ferrari I'm getting.

I'm already half way there saving money for an early 360 Modena (don't want an F1), getting one pretty soon after school's done (2015) is totally possible with a loan for the rest of the money.

But reading about the timing belt change etc, since I plan on keeping my first Ferrari basically forever (yes I'm that type of guy haha) the money spended on services just don't feel right, belt change every three years. Since I won't be driving the car too much, I'm still tied up with the belt change since they age.

I'm a DIY guy though, I've done all the major service work on my audi (timing belt change, oil change etc, etc) and plan doing so on my Duc (first v-engine that I'm working on) maybe I could escape some of the service costs if I do everything myself, that's if I dare! But still, buying new timing belts, pulleys etc every three year can't be avoided.

The F430 seems like it's cheaper servicing, well at least there's no timing belt and fluid changes etc can all be carried out by myself. The thing is, here in Europe I can get an early 360 Modena for like 61 000- 62 000 USD and an early F430 for around 98 000 USD. For me that's big bump in price.