430 owners. Weird noise from front | FerrariChat

430 owners. Weird noise from front

Discussion in '360/430' started by blackbolt22, Apr 22, 2014.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. blackbolt22

blackbolt22 F1 Veteran

Sep 25, 2007
    Boca Raton, FL
    Full Name:
    Mr. Anderson
    My 07 is making a strange noise and it has been isolated to the right front wheel by my friend who walked/ran along beside car as I rolled along in a parking garage.

It is a metallic clanking noise as if aluminum is hitting against aluminum. Almost like you were hitting two pieces of aluminum together every few seconds or dragging a piece of it along on the ground and it was hitting something else. Nothing out of the norm on visual inspection. I'm not a mechanic so I haven't pulled the wheel.

It seems to be getting worse or I've become more aware and it's driving me crazy. I only hear it at very low speeds when the car is rolling . Intermittent as well. Clutch engaged or not. I have a 3 pedal. It has been there for a while. It doesn't affect anything other than being annoying. No pulling, vibration etc at speed. Braking fine.

I now remember F of Ft laud. identifying a noise from front end a couple of years ago when in for service. They didn't have time to diagnose problem. I didn't hear it at time. I was more concerned with rear noise coming from broken exhaust brackets.

I'm going to see my indy mechanic first. Anyone else had this problem?

2. Labman

Labman F1 Rookie
    Silver Subscribed

Jun 25, 2010
    Long Island, NY
    Full Name:
    Steve
  3. johan6504

johan6504 Formula 3

Jun 28, 2005
    Sweden
    Full Name:
    Johan
  4. voicey

voicey Formula 3

Jul 29, 2009
    London, UK
    Full Name:
    Aldous Voice
    My first thoughts would be to check that you don't have anything stuck in your tyre treads. Next I would check to see if the noise goes away if the brakes are gently applied.