What oil for my engine? | FerrariChat

What oil for my engine?

Discussion in '365 GT4 2+2/400/412' started by theobordeaux, Apr 14, 2011.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. theobordeaux

theobordeaux Formula Junior

Jan 13, 2011
    Bordeaux (France)
    Full Name:
    Theodore
    Hello

I own a recently F400 Automatic of 1977. After the rupture of a hose that goes from the crankcase oil filters, I almost emptied my entire oil. Having to redo a hose in my Goodriges and change oil filters, I'm going to drain. Which oil do you recommend? Of 10W50? But what brand, if so?
    Your advice will be very useful to me.

Cordially

Theodore

2. 330Guy

330Guy Karting

Jan 9, 2009
    Union City, CA.
    Full Name:
    Dana Edward Layton
    Well Theodore I'm no expert on oil but I've been using 20/50 Castrol with a quart or two of Lucas oil treatment with superb oil pressure. Perhaps others know more on this topic than I can offer. BTW you didn't mention mileage which might be a factor in choosing. Regards, Dana

3. Flinch

Flinch Formula Junior

Nov 15, 2009
    Holland and Sweden
    Full Name:
    Peter El Cheapo
    I am currently running on 5W40 because I need to break in my rebuilt engine. In a month or so (after 3 hours run-in, and 50kms/30miles) I will switch to 20W50 from Agip.

4. Ashman

Ashman Three Time F1 World Champ
    Owner Silver Subscribed

Sep 5, 2002
    MA
    Full Name:
    John
    I've been very happy with Mobil 1 synthetic 15W-50 for the last several years. The only drawback is that it is up to about $8/qt these days and so the 19 quarts needed for a change is on the expensive side.

5. jacques

jacques Formula Junior

May 23, 2006
    Los Angeles/Florida