GH400 Replacemnt | FerrariChat

GH400 Replacemnt

Discussion in '365 GT4 2+2/400/412' started by Choptop400, Oct 24, 2014.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Choptop400

Choptop400 Karting

Oct 10, 2014
    Huntington, NY
    Full Name:
    Frank L Caponi
    I am new to the form Ferrari Chat (great) but a long time tifosi of Ferrari. I have been reading the threads with great interest. However, I have not seen any threads that have completely answer the age old question. Can you convert or transplant the GH400 3 speed with a later model GM unit with 4 or 5 speeds? There is much discussion but no evidence that it is possible without going bankrupt or cutting the Ferrari to pieces. Thoughts, comments.

2. aidanparte

aidanparte Formula 3

Jul 18, 2004
    I'd be interested to know if anyone has done this 'economically', too. It does come up from time to time. BTW, it is the GM TH400 transmission.

Aidan

3. bobzdar

bobzdar F1 Veteran

Sep 22, 2008
    Richmond
    Full Name:
    Pete
    Shouldn't be too difficult,you'd need a bellhousing adapter, modify driveshaft depending on the trans used and possibly move the crossmember. Best candidate due to similar size and rating to the th400 is a700r4.

4. It's Ross

It's Ross Formula 3

Jul 30, 2007
    Barrington, Ill. USA
    Full Name:
    Ross
    While about any Chevrolet pattern bell housing trans. will bolt to the Ferrari adapter the rub is the output. Ferrari uses an enclosed drive shaft, torque tube, that doesn't lend itself well to modifications. If the transmission tunnel needed work to accommodate a longer "gearbox" this would only make matters worse.
    I don't know of it having been done. Given the complexity of modifying the torque tube and the driveshaft, desirability of an automatic gearbox at all and the value of the finished product I'm not surprised.

5. Ak Jim

Ak Jim F1 Veteran
    Owner Rossa Subscribed

Dec 23, 2007