My 412 Purchase...63463 | FerrariChat

My 412 Purchase...63463

Discussion in '365 GT4 2+2/400/412' started by 57Wayne, Aug 16, 2015.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. 57Wayne

57Wayne Karting

Mar 29, 2015
    Wilbraham MA
    Full Name:
    Wayne Thresher
    I've been poking around here for a few months, commenting every now and then. After missing outvon Jay's car to Jay's benefit, I focused on an acquisition. So Dragone's in Westport CT had an auction and there was a 412 with lots of history. Interior smelled of mildew a little...it had sat for two years according to auction statements.But it looked nice and I had decided I was going to win. "Win" is a relative term, as it also means I might pay too much. On this case, I opened the bidding in my range. Someone else wanted the car and we inched ourselves past what I wanted to pay and then some, but still short of where I was with Jay...except buyers premium...tires...electrical work...but I got it.
    Now has new TRX tires from Longstone. Relay panel is on its way back to me from GT parts with three new connectors and 6 metal inserts to fix the five burned (real hot) connections. New Bosch/Tyco relays on their way. Need to order the Stabilant 22.
    No good pics on my phone and the car is on the lift. Will put some up soon.
    History goes back to exec correspondence with his secretary for the order. Changed his mind on colors and the importer had to take that car and resell and reorder. New color choice was silver with light grey interior, black carpet. Car arrived in July 1986. Federalization completed October 1986. Unfortunately, the owner died in Nov 1986. He still had to take the car in for work in that one month! More later...after pics.

2. Allard54

Allard54 Karting

Dec 11, 2009
    CT.
    Full Name:
    Marcel Perlman Ph.D.