1998 550 Maranello "sorting" thread--DIY | FerrariChat

1998 550 Maranello "sorting" thread--DIY

Discussion in '456/550/575' started by moorfan, Aug 15, 2011.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. moorfan

moorfan Formula Junior

May 11, 2009
    Central Virginia
    Full Name:
    Pete
    #1 moorfan, Aug 15, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
    Hello everyone,
    I had been thinking about doing a DIY thread with my new to me 550 Maranello, going through the process of sorting it and making it into my car. However, with the news today of our comrades who have departed the list I was feeling very strongly that I needed to thank them for all they have helped me with. This thread therefore dedicated to all those people who have helped me with the 550: Brian Crall, Taz, Konadog, PAP348, cribbj, FBB, Dave and Kris Helms, and everyone I may have missed.

I am an amateur mechanic. I am not a pro. However I have a fair bit of anecdotal car experience and have worked on them for years. I would love for any experts who observe the thread to give me any tips or correct any things that I do wrong. This is really aimed at the DIY'ers who want to be able to enjoy a Ferrari without being totally tied to the mechanic.

I purchased this 1998 550 Maranello with 17,040 miles on the ODO. I am the fourth owner. It has in its history fairly regular services: fluids, two timing belt services, the replacement of "some" cooling hoses, and otherwise appropriate maintenance. Nothing special or over the top. It arrived with Bradan straight pipes and first generation Tubi's.

In this thread I plan to document:
    Complete fluid replacement (brake/clutch, gearbox/diff, oil, coolant).
    Upgrade of all coolant hoses to Scuderia Rampante hoses.
    Removal and cleaning/replacement of fuel injectors.
    cleaning and seal replacement on headlights.