Go Back   FerrariChat.com > Model Specific Discussions > 456/550/575 - Sponsored by Bradan

Reply
 
Share/Bookmark LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-24-2011, 11:24 PM
Rookie
Non Subscribed
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Alarm ECU

Hi All
Does anyone know where the alarm ecu for a 2001 456gta is located as i looks like a replacement may be the only option (1 key , no fobs and alarm code purchased off dealer dosn't work)
Thanks
Geoff
Reply With Quote
Non-Sponsor Ads
  #2  
Old 10-25-2011, 11:09 AM
2000 456M's Avatar
F1 Veteran
Silver Subscribed
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Full Name: Allan
Posts: 8,484
Quote:
Originally Posted by taz28 View Post
Hi All
Does anyone know where the alarm ecu for a 2001 456gta is located as i looks like a replacement may be the only option (1 key , no fobs and alarm code purchased off dealer dosn't work)
Thanks
Geoff
If you just bought the car (almost certainly the case) and have only 1 key and no fobs, that's a matter you've got to remedy first and it won't be cheap, but bite the bullet. (Your seller did you no favors). You won't be able to do much with the car without them and could find yourself stranded. Contact the nearest authorized Ferrari dealer asap, and explain the situation. Good luck.

Last edited by 2000 456M; 10-25-2011 at 11:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-25-2011, 11:16 AM
F1 Veteran
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: South East
Full Name: Jimmie
Posts: 7,264
Welcome

Using the code to start the car can be very difficult so keep trying (as evidenced by the recent post in technical q&a http://ferrarichat.com/forum/showthread.php?t=224272) - the board's location is not too clearly shown in the parts book - for example http://www.ricambiamerica.com/parts_...=&V=diag&I=973 - whilst the code may have been changed (previous new board) it is very unlikely

Last edited by greyboxer; 10-25-2011 at 11:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2011, 11:38 AM
Formula Junior
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 773
No, all you need is to find a used key fob (remote) and have it cloned.

I have the contact details of the person that does this.

Do a search, you will find it.

Let me know if you need help.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-25-2011, 11:41 AM
F1 Veteran
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: South East
Full Name: Jimmie
Posts: 7,264
But the guy said he has NO fob to clone from.....
Quote:
Originally Posted by taz28 View Post
no fobs
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-25-2011, 01:01 PM
2000 456M's Avatar
F1 Veteran
Silver Subscribed
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Full Name: Allan
Posts: 8,484
Quote:
Originally Posted by greyboxer View Post
But the guy said he has NO fob to clone from.....
That's why I said it was going to be pricey.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-25-2011, 01:54 PM
Formula Junior
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 773
Misread.

Ok, but wait, the "code purchased from the dealer" bit doesnt make any sense. If you paid for it and bought it from a dealer, it MUST work (unless the alarm ECU was changed).

There is however a full alarm ECU with fobs on ebay: (for 1600USD) - you can make a lower offer.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Ferrari-456-...sories&vxp=mtr


Good luck
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-25-2011, 05:02 PM
Rookie
Non Subscribed
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks for all the feedback so far , all information at this stage is useful.
We did purchase the code from a dealer after going through the proof of ownership and ID etc, but after many trys by myself and others after reading Tazandjan's post on the subject of how to enter the code still nothing. Which leads us to the conclusion that either the code has been changed somehow (which is unlikely) or the alarm ecu has been changed, that was the main reason for wanting to locate the ecu and see if there was any evidence of its exchange.
The dealer's other idea is to send it to them for repair but given the cost of getting it there ,Labour etc we need to do as much as we can here first. As this car will be used for Targa Rally events the alarm / Immo is really not required but part of the system or are there other options ?
Thanks again for the help
Geoff
Reply With Quote
Non-Sponsor Ads
  #9  
Old 10-26-2011, 10:52 AM
Skidkid's Avatar
F1 Rookie
Rossa Subscribed
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Campbell, CA
Full Name: John Zornes
Posts: 3,566
Quote:
Originally Posted by 360modena2003 View Post
Ok, but wait, the "code purchased from the dealer" bit doesnt make any sense. If you paid for it and bought it from a dealer, it MUST work (unless the alarm ECU was changed).
Sure it makes sense. Lots of people try to program new fobs. If someone put it in learn mode and clicked a red fob they thought was the original. Magically the PIN changes and the factory doesn't have the right one. Programming a new set of fobs if you aren't 100% certain of their associated PIN is probably the very worst thing you can do.
__________________
If life isn't fun ----- You are doing it wrong!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-26-2011, 11:15 PM
Zedtt's Avatar
Formula Junior
Sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: So Cal
Full Name: Terry
Posts: 253
My Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by taz28 View Post
Hi All
Does anyone know where the alarm ecu for a 2001 456gta is located as i looks like a replacement may be the only option (1 key , no fobs and alarm code purchased off dealer dosn't work)
Thanks
Geoff
So this means you cannot start the car? I assume you have no working PIN? If you find the correct PIN, I have an original 550 Red Fob (U.S.), a Pin Sheet and 2 clones available for sale. But I think you'll need your PIN in hand otherwise you won't be able to use mine. (I have these extras because I purchased a complete new set of fobs and new pin from Ferrari as my car had only the red fob when I acquired it last year.)
__________________
www.vintagedrivingmachines.com
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-27-2011, 09:51 PM
Rookie
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chatham, Ontario
Full Name: Bruce
Posts: 39
My goal is somehow, someway, find a means to get that FCU out of my car and have the alarm work exactly like a normal North American car - unlock doors and signal an alarm. This whole thing about disabling the car is a waste of time, and unnecessary. Paying $450.00 to a dealer to give you a 4 digit number is a rip. I have two fobs and I carry them both all the time. They are finicky, and you never know which one will work at any given moment. If you use one of them, the other one needs about 10-20 pushes [ imputs ] rapidly, to maybe send a signal.
I just want to walk away, push the button and the doors lock. Skip the whole disable thing. Who needs it. I now have the electrical schematic, so now the real challenge - get rid of that FCU. Probably won't happen, but it's worth a try.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-31-2011, 06:45 PM
Rookie
Non Subscribed
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
The ideal situation for our case would be to get rid of the alarm/Immo all together but as it is intergrated with the factory system the options are limited. We have a the code purchased from ferrari dealer but it appears after many attempts to be the wrong one, perhaps someone has put a new one in that ferrari havnt got on record so we still have a car that wont run. I still would like to locate the actual alarm ecu unit (any ideas where its located) as replacing this looks like one of the options, another would be to remove it completly but this sounds like it has not been done as yet !
Geoff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11 AM.


FerrariChat.com has no association with Ferrari S.p.A.
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.