550's Euro versus US versions | FerrariChat

550's Euro versus US versions

Discussion in '456/550/575' started by luca's308gts, Feb 11, 2017.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. luca's308gts

luca's308gts Karting

Dec 16, 2016
    Minneapolis
    Full Name:
    Bill
    I'm looking for a little help/info; I recently sold my '84 308 (after 29 years) and am now planning on moving to a 550. While I know the differences and advantages of Euro vs US 308s, I have no knowledge of the differences with 550s. I've seen some posts that suggest the Euro should sell for 10%-20% less than the US spec car - but why. Aside from that which is done for Federalization are there any mechanical differences?
    Thanks

2. tres55

tres55 F1 Rookie
    Rossa Subscribed

Sep 18, 2012
    Canada
    From what I understand there are no major differences. There were different interior colours available in certain markets I believe. The only noticeable difference is the side markers. The European and Japanese cars had them, North American cars didn't.

My car is from Japan. I'd rather save the 20% and put that towards maintenance and fuel. :)

3. tazandjan

tazandjan Three Time F1 World Champ
    Lifetime Rossa Owner

Jul 19, 2008
    Clarksville, Tennessee
    Full Name:
    Terry H Phillips
    Look at Ricambi's site and go through the parts catalog for the 550 and you will see those parts noted for US and rest of world 550s. Things like Motronic ECUs, fuel cooling systems on late US models, etc, in addition to the obvious lighting differences.

4. asgor

asgor Formula Junior

Sep 8, 2016
    Virginia, USA
    Yeah, but does Ricambi sell those Euro parts at 10-20% discount/ price penalty?

5. tazandjan

Lifetime Rossa Owner

Jul 19, 2008
    Clarksville, Tennessee
    Full Name:
    Terry H Phillips
    Yup, Chatters get a 10% discount from FChat. Otherwise, your joke is lost on me.

6. luca's308gts