458 Italia - Differences in Model Years | FerrariChat

458 Italia - Differences in Model Years

Discussion in '458 Italia/488/F8' started by wthensler, May 7, 2015.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. wthensler

wthensler F1 Rookie
    Silver Subscribed

Apr 27, 2015
    Gator Country, FL
    Full Name:
    William
    Hello Everyone,

I'm contemplating a pre-owned 458 Italia and wondering if there are any substantial changes between model years, or even intra-model year (focused primarily between 2010 and 2013) that I should be aware of, as opposed to small tweaks that may have occurred during production runs.

I see where software changes have occurred (per thread below), but I imagine this is ongoing and a work in progress.

Consequently, are major differences in the 458 to be viewed more option-driven as opposed to minor differences in model year?

Forgive me if this is a naive question, as I am a novice to the Ferrari brand. I appreciate the benefit of response from such knowledgeable folks on this forum.

Bill H.

2. acpi

acpi Rookie

Apr 16, 2015
    London
    If I'm not wrong, the 2010-2011 458's have a more aggressive gearbox and the exhaust note is slightly different (there are more audible pops and burbles). For those reasons, I chose to buy a 2011 Italia. But there is a HUGE benefit of buying a 2012-2015, and that is you get the 7 year warranty.

3. greyboxer

greyboxer F1 World Champ

Dec 8, 2004
    South East
    Full Name:
    Jimmie
    How will you feel if you try to claim and the dealer reminds you its actually only seven year's free routine servicing ?

Ck10022 likes this.
  4. riozilla

riozilla Formula Junior

Jan 25, 2006
    Austin, TX
    Minor correction, it's not a 7 year warranty but is 7 years of covered annual service.

5. Stevenb

Stevenb F1 Rookie

Aug 5, 2012
    Los Angeles
    Full Name:
    Steven