612- searching for the right one | FerrariChat

612- searching for the right one

Discussion in '612/599' started by Makuono, Feb 15, 2014.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Makuono

Makuono Formula Junior
    Silver Subscribed

Feb 15, 2014
    Full Name:
    Ricardo
    Hi! Newbie here.

I'm in the market for one 612.

Found one 08 in red. Appears to be mint but I'm searching for more info.

Is is possible to learn the history of the car using the vIN?

Thank you.

Enviado do meu iPhone usando o Tapatalk

2. southnc

southnc Formula 3

Dec 25, 2013
    Charlotte, NC
    Full Name:
    Adam
    Sure - order a CarFax (or equivalent) on the vehicle for the basics.
    Also, make sure you ask for any service receipts and relevant history.

Regardless, always get a PPI, once you've narrowed it down to the "one". And, be prepared to walk away. I did a PPI on a black 612 that found $20K + in issues. I walked away and found another that was a little more expensive - but, sterling service history & PPI.

Good luck.

3. tazandjan

tazandjan Three Time F1 World Champ
    Lifetime Rossa Owner

Jul 19, 2008
    Clarksville, Tennessee
    Full Name:
    Terry H Phillips
    #3 tazandjan, Feb 15, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
    On 612s, there is some service history in an 8 Mb chip in the instrument panel. All you can tell from the VIN is explained in the attachment below, and it does not tell you anything about options or history. If you find a 612 at a dealer, he can use the MODIS factory computer system to print out a build sheet that shows all the colors and options fitted to her. He likely will also have a service history available.
    Image Unavailable, Please Login

4. Makuono

Makuono Formula Junior
    Silver Subscribed

Feb 15, 2014
    Full Name:
    Ricardo
    Hi! Thank you for the file.