GTO on track | FerrariChat

GTO on track

Discussion in '612/599' started by Ferrari 360 CS, Feb 21, 2015.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Ferrari 360 CS

Ferrari 360 CS F1 Veteran
    Silver Subscribed

Dec 4, 2004
    Cape Town,SA
    Full Name:
    Jacques
    It would be true to say I have had some fantastic GTO experiences but even by those standards today was special.

Had a spin next to a guy, he owns an F40 among other cars and while he isn't overly familiar with the GTO he is very familiar with the F40. Also at the track was a 458 Speciale.

This track is tight and quite a few high speed s bend corners and elevation, think a mini willow springs but with more greenery and you wouldn't be far wrong.

From the off I was a bit lets say apprehensive, after going around with a friend in his 308 and nearly spinning(this track like Willow has no real run off are).

However I figured I would place my trust in the expert behind the wheel and the experts a the Factory who set this car up.

We head out first, the Speciale behind us and down the straight the V12 really gets into its stride, 5 car lengths on the 458S, multi downshift works fantastically and through the S bend high speed corners its one awesome drive, the pace gets quicker and quicker with each lap and over each lap we pull more of a gap, not massive but a gap. The rear came around from time to time (it was in race) but the package is just astonishing, the excitement this car gives a passenger and a drive is just otherworldly.

The scream of the V12 and the handling.

After 8 laps the GTO which started first remained in first place. Driver sitting next to me " it was about pride, we had to finish first".