My GTO impressions after really giving it the beans... | FerrariChat

My GTO impressions after really giving it the beans...

Discussion in '612/599' started by johns930, Mar 30, 2015.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. johns930

johns930 Formula 3

May 9, 2005
    its been 2 months now, and i have done all the driving that i usually do,..... which is mostly hauling the behind !

i have a racing license that a written test and fifty bucks can buy, so by no means im a fast driver, but i can report that my GTO is super lively compared to the newest computer optimized offerings like the huracan and the 650s. It is definitely slower than those cars around twistys mainly it scares u sometimes and every move u do gives different results which makes it feel very alive!
    Its not like those new machines which do exactly what u think it will do, and with great speed. I really have to work the gto to make it move, change direction, stop,.... if not fast.

It is even livelier than my scud ,which as far as fcars go is the most temperamental modern fcars out there. 458 need not apply, it is too good and easily faster.
    The steering especially after the 458 is much slower, u have to turn more, much more than the 458's fast steering for it to go around the same turn. Throwing it into a corner and steering it with the throttle is much required, unlike the super fast & intuitive 458 steering.

i think every car has its own character so i dont think which is better, i love them all in its own way. But im loving the GTO now in a new and very interesting way, because it almost has its own pace and temper that no matter how hard u want it to go faster than the 458, hurcan, 650s, gt3, etc... ahead or behind u, it doesnt give a damn.
    I went up the local track giving it all i got and more, sweating like a pig, just to see my buddy in a gt3 behind me barely breaking a sweat.