in the hunt for a 599 | FerrariChat

in the hunt for a 599

Discussion in '612/599' started by SCantera, Apr 7, 2015.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. SCantera

SCantera F1 Veteran
    Silver Subscribed

Aug 4, 2004
    Living Falls NC
    I am just beginning my search for a 599. Right now I am focusing on 08s and 09s for their relative price/value relationship. Seems that 2010s and later prices jump..even without the HGTE package. I am not afraid of miles assuming the car has been well maintained and not abused. I will not pay a big premium for super low miles. I drive my cars and would burn off that premium pretty quickly.

I have been researching the 599 threads to learn more about the mechanical, cosmetic and maintenance issues that I need to know when I inquire about a car I find. So far this is on my "ask about list":

Clutch - at what point is not enough remaining? How much to replace on an F1?
    Tie Rod Ends - seems this is a potential weakpoint. Again...the cost to replace?
    Instrument Panel - is this a prevalent failure issue? At this point I don't think so but have read a few comments about failure
    Dash Shrinkage - a very prevalent problem in Maranellos. Is it the same for 599s?
    Stickies - I guess it's just a matter of when.....
    PCV Mass Airflow sensor - Forza article said this might be an issue. I did not see much posted about this.

Are there any other items or components I should be concerned and asking about? Overall it seems the 599 is a fairly reliable car without many issues.

One of the reasons I like the 08-09 version is that HGTE upgrades can be fitted on 08s and later 599s. I may consider doing the full upgrade that Boardwalk is offering.....assuming it is still there when I find the car I want. It seems that the original HGTE cars are priced higher than I want to spend for a 599.