Go Back   FerrariChat.com > Model Specific Discussions > 612/599

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 07-16-2017, 11:37 AM
Rookie
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Dubai
Full Name: Arash Gmaghami
Posts: 9
Bonnet Open Message

Hi All,

My car (07 612) decided to develop a fault while it was parked with the battery disconnected although regularly charged. The car reports the bonnet's open hence the F1 refusing to go in a gear. Strangely, when the engine is off the message doesn't appear and the pump and actuator run perfectly well and I can go in and out of gears. Its the moment the engine is started and the problem starts.

I removed the bonnet latch cover and took a look, all seemed fine. Got a mate to hold the microswitch closed and the message still appeared (as in bonnet open). Could this issue have anything to do with a brake pedal switch as I do see a fault appearing on the fault memory related to the brake pedal switch. I also shorted the 2 pins on the female connector of the bonnet switch and still no luck. Does the switch end at the body computer/fuse box or goes to the TCU?

Any help would be much appreciated. Please let me know if a brake light switch could flummox the F1 system as such. Cheers a lot.
Reply With Quote
Non-Sponsor Ads
  #2  
Old 07-16-2017, 07:07 PM
F1 Rookie
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: MA
Full Name: Paul
Posts: 2,767
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arashgha View Post
Got a mate to hold the microswitch closed and the message still appeared (as in bonnet open)...... I also shorted the 2 pins on the female connector of the bonnet switch and still no luck.

You probably already checked this, but have you looked at the fuse? It seems odd that you still get that message after circumventing the switch.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-16-2017, 11:55 PM
Rookie
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Dubai
Full Name: Arash Gmaghami
Posts: 9
Hi,

Thanks for the reply. The fuse was high on my list. Haven't yet done it but the bonnet only shown as open once the engine runs and the switch operational at other times took my focus away from the fuse a bit.

Like I said I've noticed brake light switch faults tend to be quite keen to appear everytime I read the faults and that got me concerned. Once again thanks heaps and would love know if someone's been through a similar mishap.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-17-2017, 09:03 AM
Karting
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Beverly Hills
Full Name: Dima
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arashgha View Post
Hi All,

My car (07 612) decided to develop a fault while it was parked with the battery disconnected although regularly charged. The car reports the bonnet's open hence the F1 refusing to go in a gear. Strangely, when the engine is off the message doesn't appear and the pump and actuator run perfectly well and I can go in and out of gears. Its the moment the engine is started and the problem starts.

I removed the bonnet latch cover and took a look, all seemed fine. Got a mate to hold the microswitch closed and the message still appeared (as in bonnet open). Could this issue have anything to do with a brake pedal switch as I do see a fault appearing on the fault memory related to the brake pedal switch. I also shorted the 2 pins on the female connector of the bonnet switch and still no luck. Does the switch end at the body computer/fuse box or goes to the TCU?

Any help would be much appreciated. Please let me know if a brake light switch could flummox the F1 system as such. Cheers a lot.
I had a similar problem and it was a bad ground. One of the cables in the front of the car, by the passenger side headlights was loose. Once the cable was tightened to the body, the problem went away.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-17-2017, 12:18 PM
Rookie
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Dubai
Full Name: Arash Gmaghami
Posts: 9
Thanks for the reply. What a great forum; I with huge regret left for a holiday I'd planned for a long time back, at where I grew up (Brisbane Australia) and I only discovered this after I decided to crank her so she wouldn't go too dry on the next start as I'd been away for work in Germany for 7 days.

It did feel like that as I could see a flickering within the instrument cluster meaning of course a loose connection. I believe this is a ground the TCU might be using once the engine is running hence the trouble only appearing when she starts. I don't think the TCU eliminates anything before startup as I can shift in and out if the engine isn't running with even the bonnet open etc etc. Should be easy, I've taken the headlight out before, easy job indeed. I so hope its this, I've been thinking about this throughout my 18hr flight from Dubai to Brisbane. Would let you know soon. Thanks a million for the help,

Last edited by Arashgha; 07-17-2017 at 12:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 PM.


FerrariChat.com has no association with Ferrari S.p.A.
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.