Need advice on custom muffler/resonator | FerrariChat

Need advice on custom muffler/resonator

Discussion in 'American Muscle' started by f4udriver, Sep 23, 2015.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. f4udriver

f4udriver Formula Junior

Feb 1, 2012
    Central Illinois
    Full Name:
    Mike G
    #1 f4udriver, Sep 23, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
    Since I replaced my LS6 motor with a supercharged engine of 820 HP the mufflers just are too loud. I have to wear ear plugs when I drive the car. Now the cats have blown out. Since I am replacing the cats with a straight pipe I would assume the sound levels will only increase.

Some more info
    the current mufflers are 6 inch diameter and have a 2.5 inch inlet.
    I contacted Vivid racing and they suggested a resonator instead of a muffler.
    I have no experience in this area.

I am looking for a good sound and leaving my ear plugs at home.

Picture is the best I could get with a cell phone.

All help is appreciated.
    Image Unavailable, Please Login

2. Nate Johnson

Nate Johnson Formula Junior

Nov 7, 2006
    USA
    Sweet machine!

Have you checked with Borla? At one time they made silencers that would fit right after the collector, quiet enough for track noise restrictions. I think their phone number is 877-462-6752.

3. VividRacing

VividRacing F1 Rookie

Aug 23, 2005
    Gilbert, AZ
    Having previously had a mildly built LS1 Camaro and a fairly built supercharged '03 Cobra, I have some good experience regarding sound levels. My '11 M3 was also fully catless and I played with the exhaust setup on that quite a bit.

The LS1 was fully catless and I ran various combinations of resonators only, mufflers only, and resonators w/ mufflers. The same applies to the Cobra and the M3.

I would suggest either Borla or Magnaflow and a combination of resonators and mufflers if space allows.