Shared brake and clutch fluid reservoir. | FerrariChat

Shared brake and clutch fluid reservoir.

Discussion in 'Australia' started by Il cavalino, May 27, 2017.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Il cavalino

Il cavalino Rookie

May 27, 2017
    Perth, Western Australia
    Full Name:
    Marc Presenza
    Hi Guy's, I'm new to Ferrarichat. So I'm not sure what I'm actually doing here, but here goes. I have a 1985 Mondial QV and the brake and clutch reservoir is shared. I recently replaced the brake fluid and bled the brakes successfully, however, the old clutch fluid is still in the other half of the reservoir and I can't workout how to remove it, so I can replace it and bleed the clutch system. Q- If anyone knows how this is done, or can shed some light on this issue, it would be greatly appreciated ? Thanks ! Marc

2. maurice70

maurice70 F1 Rookie

Jan 25, 2004
    Sydney
    Full Name:
    maurice T
    Had this happen on another car,I used a large syringe with a small diameter plastic hose on the end of it to suck the old fluid out,
    Not sure if this is possible on the Mondial reservoir..

3. Andy 355

Andy 355 Formula Junior

Jun 2, 2013
    Sydney
    Can you simply bleed it out of the slave until its just empty in the resivior, fluid would still be in the feed pipe to the master cylinder, then refill it with fresh fluid and continue bleeding until you have clean fluid at the slave bleeder.

4. Ferraridoc

Ferraridoc F1 World Champ
    Owner Silver Subscribed

Jun 20, 2012
    Gold Coast, Aust.
    Full Name:
    Patrick
    +1, and don't spill a drop on the paint!

5. IanB

IanB F1 World Champ
    Owner

Jun 15, 2006
    Sydney
  6. au-yt

au-yt F1 Veteran
    Silver Subscribed

Aug 13, 2006
    Burradoo... Actually
    Full Name:
    Graeme
    Thanks for the link Ian.