airasia looses contact | FerrariChat

airasia looses contact

Discussion in 'Aviation Chat' started by Edward 96GTS, Dec 28, 2014.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Edward 96GTS

Edward 96GTS F1 Veteran
    Silver Subscribed

Nov 1, 2003
    8 min after takeoff. hope all ends well.

2. Remy Zero

Remy Zero Two Time F1 World Champ

Apr 26, 2005
    KL, Malaysia
    Full Name:
    MC Cool Breeze
    Just after 8 minutes? I read it was after 53 mins. It's Air Asia Indonesia.

3. beast

beast F1 World Champ

May 31, 2003
    Lewisville, TX
    Full Name:
    Rob Guess
  4. LouB747

LouB747 Formula 3

Apr 8, 2009
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Full Name:
    Lou Boyer
    Yeah. Maybe like AF.

There typically aren't strong high altitude winds in that part of the world, so GS is close to TAS. At those altitudes IAS is quite low compared to TAS. While I have no experience in the A320 or am I familiar with its cruising speeds, I'll try and equate what I know about 747 speeds to this.

At 32000, Mach .84 would be around 307 indicated
    At 36000, Mach .84 would be around 279 indicated.

So assuming the wind didn't change much between those altitudes (it probably didn't), then the GS loss shown on the radar display (470 - 353) of 117 kts would probably put them right close to stall speed. This 117 kts GS would probably equate to around 80 or 90 kts IAS. So for the 747, 279 - 90 = 189. That's slow.