Aviator's flight jacket | FerrariChat

Aviator's flight jacket

Discussion in 'Aviation Chat' started by ralfabco, Jun 13, 2016.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. ralfabco

ralfabco Two Time F1 World Champ
    Lifetime Rossa

Mar 1, 2002
    Dixie
    Full Name:
    Itamar Ben-Gvir
    #1 ralfabco, Jun 13, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
    I collect old USAF, USN, and USMC squadron patches from the 1940's to the end of the Vietnam War. I have been collecting since the mid 1990's. I spent months on and off trying to find an old VA-195 (Attack Squadron 195) Dambusters patch from the Korean War. I wrote several people and spoke to a few on the telephone. It ain't easy to locate an original example.

Most people who are almost 90 years old or older will not move boxes and look in the attic for an example. Quite often the patch is passed along to family members. I also wrote an aviator who flew the F9F-5 with VF-101. He called me on the telephone and we spoke for a while. The retired aviator who lives in E. Alabama meets a widow from Pensacola quite often. Her late husband flew with VA-195 during the K.W. He would let me know, if she might have an old example from VA-195. Months passed by and I did not hear anything.

Approximately 6 weeks ago I again wrote the same aviator who flew with VF-101 and asked about the Grim Reaper sq patch and if he had contacted the widow about the VA-195 patch. I did not hear back from him. At approximately the same time, I located the name of another aviator (on-line) who flew the Able Dog with VA-195 during the K.W.

I wrote the aviator about the patch. I immediately received a letter from his widow. She did not have a spare patch but did have a jacket with the patch. I wrote her back a letter. I asked if I could work out something for the jacket, reproduce the patch for her, and keep the original.