what kind of missile is this? | FerrariChat

what kind of missile is this?

Discussion in 'Aviation Chat' started by Ryan S., Sep 11, 2016.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Ryan S.

Ryan S. Two Time F1 World Champ
    Silver Subscribed

Mar 20, 2004
    [ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wrf5QRF9fC4[/ame]

What is the benefit of the direction changing ability that this thing has at launch?

Pretty cool to see.....

2. Hannibal308

Hannibal308 F1 Veteran
    Rossa Subscribed

Jan 3, 2012
    Kahuku / Cottonwood / Prescott
    Full Name:
    Will
    I'll begin by saying I'm no expert on these things and I know there are guys on here that are, so they will likely expound on what I say...or say STFUR! There were several different missiles shown, I believe. In any case, the ones launched from cannisters or launch tubes use separate short burn first stages to clear their launchers before the second flight stage ignites. The direction change shortly after clearing the tubes is done with other small motors and likely depends on the optimal trajectory for a given target.

3. tazandjan

tazandjan Three Time F1 World Champ
    Lifetime Rossa Owner

Jul 19, 2008
    Clarksville, Tennessee
    Full Name:
    Terry H Phillips
    There were six or seven different types of missiles in that short film, all the way from an air-to-surface anti-radiation missile like our AGM-88 HARM to a road transportable ICBM (like a mobile Minuteman III). Would take a while to identify all of them.

4. Ryan S.

Silver Subscribed

Mar 20, 2004
    I'm just curious about the one shown at the start of the video.

Does the US use anything like that?

That 90 degree change in direction so quickly was pretty cool to see.

5. Ryan S.

Silver Subscribed

Mar 20, 2004