Can I remove the air injection system on my car? | FerrariChat

Can I remove the air injection system on my car?

Discussion in 'Boxers/TR/M' started by jcorallo, Apr 25, 2008.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. jcorallo

jcorallo Karting

Feb 25, 2008
    I have a 1986 testarossa. I plan on getting the catless pre-cat pipes. Since I wont have the cats can I remove this system. I am new to the ferrari world so bare with me. Thanks in advance.

2. vincenzo

vincenzo F1 Rookie

Nov 2, 2003
    it is difficult to remove the pump and bracketry with the engine in the car - but it can be done with some care. The bracket supports the lower throttle cable guide... but the guide can be left loose & zip tie to a stud. make some aluminum blanking plates to mount on the heads & use a fresh gasket.

pull everything off.. & save it.

the only thing i left in place is the pipe T mounted above the oil filter. this is virtually impossible to get off with the engine in the car.

the pump essentially does not sap HP. it can be left on with little to no penalty.

Rgds,
    Vince

3. JAYF

JAYF Formula 3

May 13, 2006
    Westchester, NY
    Full Name:
    Jay
    I am currently running this set up and the car has never run better. I have the hi-perf pre cats, test pipes and a factory muffler, with no pump or air system. The throtle response is excellent and the sound is just right IMO-not to loud not to soft, the car moves along a little faster(some of that might be psychological)but now it just feels right with this setup.

4. vincenzo

vincenzo F1 Rookie

Nov 2, 2003
    the air pump only runs while the engine is below temp. once warm - it is only dead weight.
    rgds,
    Vince

5. jcorallo

jcorallo Karting

Feb 25, 2008
    Does this system have those pieces that shhot the air in and abstruct the exhaust flow like the 308 does?

6. Steve Magnusson

Steve Magnusson Two Time F1 World Champ