Guesstimate work needed | FerrariChat

Guesstimate work needed

Discussion in 'Boxers/TR/M' started by LHartman, Oct 9, 2014.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. LHartman

LHartman Rookie

Oct 4, 2014
    SW Florida
    Full Name:
    L
    Hello Fellow TR Lovers.

I have been reading here for a long time but have never posted. I have looked several TR's in the past year and the real clean ones get snapped up and the others seem to linger. I am thinking of making an offer on one that I drove that runs and drives well but needs some TLC. I am a x -certified master mechanic (back when these cars were new) and feel I can perform my own PPI. Since I don't have a lift (yet) I will probably have the engine out done for me by a qualified friend.

I would LOVE some opinions on a guesstimate to make the car nice. I figure $12,000 to $15,000. What do you think? Your posts will affect my offer.

At a minimum the car needs

Engine out timing belts (clutch when out)
    fuse box isn't updated
    Windows are slow (I feel it is a bad ground but could be another problem)
    AC doesn't work (assume the worst)
    Dash cracked (near windshield)
    2 Very minor dents I think a paintless dent guy can roll out (on fear quarters)
    Leather needs to be dyed (the typical seat bolster wear)
    I think carpets will clean up but not sure.
    Engine deck lid gas shocks are shot

2. uzz32soarer

uzz32soarer F1 Rookie

Sep 9, 2006
    Melbourne, Australia
    Full Name:
    Robert Hayden
    Don't forget your diff. Fix it before it goes BANG or your $15k won't go far then!

3. turbo-joe

turbo-joe F1 Veteran

Apr 6, 2008
    southwest germany and thailand
    Full Name:
    romano schwabel
    1+++

4. sherrillt

sherrillt Formula 3
    Rossa Subscribed

Jan 1, 2009
    Northern Virginia