512TR rust/corrosion an issue or not? Areas to check? | FerrariChat

512TR rust/corrosion an issue or not? Areas to check?

Discussion in 'Boxers/TR/M' started by JohnAbrams, Dec 1, 2014.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. JohnAbrams

JohnAbrams Karting

Nov 12, 2014
    FL & NY
    I have a '95 F512M, it has been inspected with a fine tooth comb and I see zero evidence of rust/corrosion. So I have no hands on experience to add to this. So I need the communities help...

Here is the thing, my father is now in the market. He is looking for a 512 TR. I have not really heard about this being an issue on these cars, any more then any other modern car if taken care of. But with that being said, are there any areas to check that could be a potential issue on these cars? All I really could fine by searching was an area inside the wheel well that should be inspected for possible damage, ring a bell to anyone?

Also, what kind of preventive measures did Ferrari take on these cars? I assume the steel parts were galvanized and such. What about the chassis, was anything else done to it? I thought I heard some of the cars were undercoated, true or not?

Thanks ahead of time.

2. SSNISTR

SSNISTR F1 Veteran

Feb 13, 2004
    SFL
    My neighbor has a '92 512TR, has had it for over 15 years. There is not a spec of rust on it, and it is shown in all sorts of car shows. I don't recall even the older Testarossas having any real issues with this if the car is properly taken care of.

My advise would be don't drive it in salty conditions, keep it in the garage (I'm sure this would be the case anyway), don't drive it in the rain often (most F cars aren't anyway), if it does get wet, chamois it off well, don't put it away wet, and finally wax it at least once a year and you should be fine.

3. msdesignltd

msdesignltd F1 World Champ
    Rossa Subscribed

Nov 17, 2003
    NYC. / E. Hampton
    Full Name: