restoring a testarossa | FerrariChat

restoring a testarossa

Discussion in 'Boxers/TR/M' started by jkg2101, Jan 25, 2015.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. jkg2101

jkg2101 Rookie

Jan 25, 2015
    New York
    Hi - I am new here, but have been following the forum for a while. I am an experienced amateur restorer (i have restored 57 chevy, 74 pantera, 67 corvette) and can do most things at home - welding, bodywork, paint, mechanicals. I am looking for my next project, and I have always wanted a testarossa. (wish I had bought the one I passed a year ago for 30,000).

I have been holding off because I am apprehensive about costs of parts and the ability to do some repairs myself (electronic fuel injection diagnosis). Whenever I see a car for sale, the seller makes it seem like, as long as the service is "up to date" (which to me means timing belts and oil...), then the car is good to go.

But these are 30 year old cars now. Many parts just arent going to last that long. Brake hoses, calipers, suspension bushings, fuel lines, water pump, engine sensors, radiators, tires, etc... One seller was actually boasting that his car still had original tires! I understand the attraction of the original tires, but after 30 years, it is obviously unwise to use such tires on the street. I saw that as just another expense, not an asset.

When I bought my pantera, it was 30 years old and everything needed to be replaced. Isn't that going to be the case with a testarossa? When a car is being sold at 60-80K as a fantastic driver or show car, I figure it is going to need another 30-40K in parts, forget about labor. Kind of like with a mid-year corvette now, buying a decent driver is not cost effective - better to get a steal on a poor driver or buy a fully restored one. the good drivers that have not been 100% restored are a money pit.