Need to replace valve stem with new tires on TR? | FerrariChat

Need to replace valve stem with new tires on TR?

Discussion in 'Boxers/TR/M' started by 1TRICK6, Jun 29, 2015.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. 1TRICK6

1TRICK6 Karting

Aug 28, 2014
    So. Cal (L.A./O.C.)
    Full Name:
    Jim
    #1 1TRICK6, Jun 29, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2015
    Newbie here, just purchased a 89 TR, blk/nero last week.
    Need to replace the tires since they are 13years old.
    The valve stem looks different than most metal valve stems,
    do they need to be changed and if so can it be replaced
    with regular valve stems?
    The only tires I can find are the B.F.G. Comp2, 225/50/16 & 255/50/16.
    Also thinking about getting the wheels refinished. Are the wheels
    powder coated or painted originally. Anyone know of good place to take
    them in So. California area.
    Thanks,
    Jim

2. Steve Magnusson

Steve Magnusson Two Time F1 World Champ
    Lifetime Rossa

Jan 11, 2001
    30°30'40" N 97°35'41" W (Texas)
    Full Name:
    Steve Magnusson
    Do not remove them (they are expensive and not normally replaced) -- just have the tire shop put a new Schrader valve core (that threads into the ID).

Steve M.

3. BigTex

BigTex Seven Time F1 World Champ
    Owner Rossa Subscribed

Dec 6, 2002
    Houston, Texas
    Full Name:
    Bubba
    If they are metal, they stay in the wheel, as Steve says above.....they came with the wheel.

Not the same as the rubber ones....

4. Melvok

Melvok F1 World Champ
    Owner Silver Subscribed

Jul 25, 2008
    Amersfoort, The Netherlands, Europe.
    Full Name:
    Mel
    Rubbers (!) always look stupid :D

5. 1TRICK6

1TRICK6 Karting

Aug 28, 2014
    So. Cal (L.A./O.C.)
    Full Name:
    Jim