Dearth of California DIYs and a Plea for Help | FerrariChat

Dearth of California DIYs and a Plea for Help

Discussion in 'California/Portofino/Roma' started by tomconte, Sep 23, 2015.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. tomconte

tomconte Formula Junior
    Silver Subscribed

May 15, 2010
    Atlanta
    Full Name:
    Tom Conte
    I'm an engineer by training and have always (always) modded my cars, even just as much as swapping a head unit or adding a hardwired radar detector.

Now with a 2013 California30, I'm finding a surprising absence of any DIY information. I've heard that California owners like writing checks more than turning wrenches, but I can't believe that as a 100% absolute truth. There's gotta be more like me who want to tweak their cars.

Thus, if you know of any DIY for the California/30 or T, please post it and we can collect it here.

I'm planning to disassemble the dash to get to the head unit to add a backup camera. It sounds like an ordeal. When I figure it out, I promise to post my own DIY on it.

Tom

2. greyboxer

greyboxer F1 World Champ

Dec 8, 2004
    South East
    Full Name:
    Jimmie
    How about collecting it in the California section ?

More recent owners are reluctant to maintain or mod themselves for many reasons including concerns about compromising the extended warranty & maintenance programs

3. tomconte

tomconte Formula Junior
    Silver Subscribed

May 15, 2010
    Atlanta
    Full Name:
    Tom Conte
    I'm an engineer by training and have always (always) modded my cars, even just as much as swapping a head unit or adding a hardwired radar detector.

Now with a 2013 California30, I'm finding a surprising absence of any DIY information. I've heard that California owners like writing checks more than turning wrenches, but I can't believe that as a 100% absolute truth. There's gotta be more like me who want to tweak their cars.