New Cali owner - need advice - lots of ? | FerrariChat

New Cali owner - need advice - lots of ?

Discussion in 'California/Portofino/Roma' started by SKIndy, Apr 9, 2017.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. SKIndy

SKIndy Rookie

Apr 8, 2017
    #1 SKIndy, Apr 9, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
    So I'm new to exotics/Ferrari, but I found a 2013 California 30 w/19k for a bit less than a Tesla so I said - what the heck. I paid 129,999 on 3/19/17, but still have not received the car. I bought it from Maserati Tampa (I live in Indiana), I asked for a PPI with Ferrari Tampa (apparently a rivalry since some Ferrari folks get their cars serviced there). The Ferrari dealer found no major mechanical issues, but the driver mirror was off track/not lined up - is this a common issue? Also the cruise control didn't switch off when switched off. Total repairs about $4k. I asked for 3k discount and call it even. Maserati dealer said they would fix it and send to me at the agreed upon price. It's been 3 weeks now and no sign of the cruise control mechanism from Maranello. Is this shady? Does it really take this long for a part like this. Second question. When it does get here should I show it to my local mechanic (no Ferrari dealer in my town) just a well reputed individual/shop, or just drive it till pre-paid service due later this summer and take it to Chicago vs Columbus for said service - add on question which dealership between Continental and Lake Forest in Chicago or Columbus Ohio do owners recommend? Finally I'm planning to stuff my 6 & 8yo in the back for periodic ice cream runs this summer. Any advice on interior protection. I remember the clear plastic seat covers my parents did in the 70's and hated, them, but for a car like this with messy little kids, I'm searching for suggestions - cloth seat covers and WeatherTech mats?
    Image Unavailable, Please Login

2. good2go