Go Back   FerrariChat.com > The Ferrari Lifestyle > Creative Arts

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2016, 10:10 PM
Two Time F1 World Champ
Rossa Subscribed

Canine Design

Residential design has been often described as Canine Design, picture a group of dogs in a circle sniffing each other's butts. This picture is a graphic example of extremely bad canine design. It makes me embarrassed to say I used to be a home builder.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg BN-RB152_SUBURB_M_20161202154100.jpg (70.8 KB, 254 views)
Old 12-04-2016, 06:09 PM
F1 Veteran
Silver Subscribed

Where is that?
Old 12-04-2016, 06:25 PM
Two Time F1 World Champ
Rossa Subscribed

Canine Design

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCR View Post
Where is that?

Outside Birmingham Al

Ugly, huh?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Old 12-05-2016, 02:12 AM
F1 Veteran
Silver Subscribed

That is how it is supposed to look from the alley. But since this is from the front, WTF?
Old 12-05-2016, 08:30 AM
Two Time F1 World Champ
Rossa Subscribed

We call them baby snouts. "Someday I'm going to go up to be as big as my garage."
Old 12-05-2016, 12:20 PM
F1 Veteran
Silver Subscribed

On top of the ugly architecture is the ever increasing size issue. Yes, avg. square footage has increased since post WWII etc. All those pre war and early post war houses in River Oaks are being replaced by houses twice the size. This where the avg. household has grown smaller and the houses when built in River Oaks were larger than the average at the time since River Oaks is the wealthiest part of Houston.

The new larger homes use chintzier materials like EIFS and peel and stick stone vs brick and old school wire lathe stucco. I've also seen infill inside the loop modern townhomes less than 10 years old already starting to unravel. Dumbest thing I've seen by these builders is the lack of or minimal use of eaves. This is Houston. We get lots of rain.
Old 12-05-2016, 01:32 PM
Two Time F1 World Champ
Rossa Subscribed

Quote: