Detailing questions | FerrariChat

Detailing questions

Discussion in 'Detailing & Showroom' started by Joey911, Jan 6, 2017.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Joey911

Joey911 Rookie

Jan 5, 2017
    NYC
    Full Name:
    Dr. Joe
    If anyone has any detailing questions or paint correction questions post em up and i'll attempt to answer them.

Everyone here is real cool, just wanna contribute back

I have a lot of experience and generally enjoy it.

I know paint correction quite well.

2. Jackp6

Jackp6 Karting

May 26, 2013
    I come across this term as paint correction, and still have a herd time understanding the term. Does this refer to older cars paint job ? On the few threads I see it referred to new cars and still don't understand why not just polish the finish or is there a much more involved process besides polishing the finish. Sorry for my ignorance but you offered.

3. moysiuan

moysiuan F1 Rookie
    Silver Subscribed

Nov 1, 2005
    Canada
    Why do polishers not use 3 inch pads, the typical larger size 5 or 6 inch pads seem too larrge for many surfaces other than a flat hood or deck lid. Any risks of say pressure not distributed widely enough, or is it just about speed of use is better for a pro with thd larger pad sizes?

4. ///Mike

///Mike F1 Veteran

Dec 11, 2003
    Bugtussle
    Andy, I use a 3" adapter on my Griot's polisher frequently. I have found no downside other than the inability to get quality pads (forced to use Lake Country).

5. eyeman1234

eyeman1234 Formula 3
    Owner

Dec 25, 2006
    Boca Raton, FL
    OK my friend you asked...
    What do you use on painted wheels after cleaning?
    How do you clean:
    328 GTS top from Armour all? And its water spots?
    wool carpets (with no stains)?
    glue spots off of headliner?
    the red paint in an F430 engine bay?
    What about water-less washing for light dirt e.g. Griots Speedshine?