What are "fish-eyes" in paint? | FerrariChat

What are "fish-eyes" in paint?

Discussion in 'Ferrari Discussion (not model specific)' started by bizz, Nov 9, 2008.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. bizz

bizz Formula Junior

May 26, 2008
    Redwood City, CA
    Full Name:
    joe B
    I recently had some minor paint work done on my 360. The body shop owner says that these "fish eyes" will over time repair themselves. I smell a fish.

Anybody know what paint fish-eyes are? Do they fix themselves, or is additional paint work necessary?

2. darthenzo

darthenzo Formula Junior

Dec 8, 2007
    Glendale, Arizona
    Full Name:
    James
    I do cabinet work for a living and fish eyes in the finish indicates a contaminate. wd-40 or similar spray lubricant is a typical reason. back when I worked in a towing companies shop the shop foreman would get all angered up if anyone even picked up a can of wd-40. I do not believe that the probleb will "fix itself".. sorry to say. maybe someone that actually does automotive paint work for a living will say otherwise and if so, I would take their advice.

3. gsjohnson

gsjohnson Formula 3

Feb 25, 2008
    Woodland Hills, CA
    Full Name:
    GS Johnson
    #3 gsjohnson, Nov 9, 2008
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2008
    Fish eye will never repair itself over any amount of time. Fish eye looks like a water drop onto a wet paint surface. Or when you drop water onto oil. If the fish eye is in the clear coat on a two stage paint surface you may be able to color sand or polish it out depending how deep it is. But they never repair themselves.

4. DMOORE

DMOORE Formula 3

Aug 23, 2005
    San Diego
    Full Name:
    Darrell
    They are usually caused by foreign debris, or water in the air line( tiny amounts of condensation). I've never seen one "fix" itself. It usually requires wet sanding and polishing, if there is enough paint applied.

Darrell.

5. Motob