Athletic recruiting | FerrariChat

Athletic recruiting

Discussion in 'Health & Fitness' started by fullmonty, Sep 22, 2014.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. fullmonty

fullmonty Formula Junior

Sep 17, 2007
    LALAland
    Full Name:
    Mel
    Anyone here have any experience with NCSA athletic recruiting. My son is a junior in high school, plays soccer and would like to play college soccer.

2. FarmerDave

FarmerDave F1 World Champ
    Consultant

Jul 26, 2004
    Full Name:
    IgnoranteWest
    Lightguy's son played soccer at Notre Dame, you might PM him if he doesnt chime in

3. JP365

JP365 Formula 3

Mar 8, 2007
    Chicago
    Full Name:
    John F
    I have no direct experience with this company (although their headquarters are here in Chicago) but I was a division one swimmer and I coached swimming and water polo for fifteen years. From my experiences I always told parents to look at the total number of athletic scholarships available to current college juniors, sophomores, freshman, and high school seniors, and if your child was in that number, there may be an athletic scholarship available for your child. If you are not in that number, there probably isn't. I believe soccer, like swimming, is limited to 9 athletic scholarships for div 2 and 9.5 athletic scholarships for div 1 per team. So there are roughly 10-12k scholarships available. Most college coaches I knew tended to break those scholarships into partials. How connected is your son's coach? I know in Illinois the All State rankings are very political. This doesn't mean great players don't get recognized if the coach isn't connected, but it does make it more difficult. There is also a big difference between playing college sports and getting money to play. I knew a fair number of coaches who would help good athletes who were academically strong get non athletic scholarships to get them to swim. So while they weren'