modial t motronic engine fault diagnosis | FerrariChat

modial t motronic engine fault diagnosis

Discussion in 'Mondial' started by elefunkd, May 14, 2017.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. elefunkd

elefunkd Rookie

Apr 26, 2017
    Good day all.

I am new to the cars, and potentially purchasing a mondial T in a week.

Researching as much as time will allow, but I was unsuccessful in finding information on how to retrieve engine fault codes as well as the dynamic suspension fault codes.

Thank you in advance for any input or direction.

-Tomasz

2. aec

aec Karting

Jul 28, 2011
    Weston, MA
    Have a look at my348.com

3. davebdave

davebdave Formula 3
    Owner

Mar 18, 2007
    Northern VA
    Full Name:
    Dave W
    my348.com is must reading for a Mondial t owner. The buttons for the ECUs are located in the trunk of the Mondial t. There are two quarter turn screws to remove the firewall cover. But there's a catch, only later Montial Ts with the Motronic 2.7 have the buttons. Easiest way to tell that I know of it to open the engine lid and see if there is a throttle position sensor on both air intakes. If only one then it is the Motronic 2.5 and you can't get the engine codes without a specialized computer. I don't know about suspension codes. I think you may need a reader for that also.

Good luck with your purchase.

Dave

4. paulchua

paulchua Cat Herder
    Lifetime Rossa Owner

Jul 1, 2013
    Menlo Park, CA
    Full Name:
    Paul Chua
    Let us know what codes come up, we may be able to help diagnose!

Cheers

5. Rifledriver

Rifledriver Three Time F1 World Champ

Apr 29, 2004
    Austin TX
    Full Name:
    Brian Crall
    Motronic 2.5 had no self diagnosis function of any kind. 2.5 was only present for a few months on the early 89's. All others had 2.7.

6. elefunkd

elefunkd Rookie

Apr 26, 2017
    Gentlemen, thank you for your input and advice.