Shin Splints? | FerrariChat

Shin Splints?

Discussion in 'Health & Fitness' started by ExoticSpotter, Mar 7, 2009.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. ExoticSpotter

ExoticSpotter Formula Junior

Jun 1, 2008
    I have been running for the last 6-8 months on a treadmill no problem. I am 25 years old, in very good, lean shape, and I typically run between 2 and 2.5 miles 4-5 times a week. I've lost about 35 pounds in around 6 months but still have another 10 to go. The last 10 haven't been as easy as the first and I've been stagnant too long. Long story short, I started running at a track and after the 3rd or 4th time going I could barely finish a mile because my shins hurt so bad. Now, every time I start jogging they instantly start hurting. No pain whatsoever in day to day life, only on the run.

I stretch at least 10-15 minutes before a run and they typically last 45 minutes to an hour.

Anybody got any advice on how to minimize the pain? I hope "get back on the treadmill" isn't part of it, because I'm sick of it.

2. PT 328

PT 328 F1 Rookie
    Silver Subscribed

May 1, 2005
    A couple things. 1. Running on a treadmill is different then running on a track or outside. On a treadmill the ground is moving under you and you have to match the set speed. Running outdoors requires more energy as you have to propel yourself as the earth is not moving beneath your feet. In addition, a treadmill is evenly surfaced while running on the street, trails is not. I know this is not your case as you are running on an even surfaced track but I want to provide some more insight. When running on uneven surfaces there is more required from the body, the smaller intrinsic foot muscles are working harder to maintain balance on the uneven surfaces.