308 Plug Wires for Dummies | FerrariChat

308 Plug Wires for Dummies

Discussion in 'Technical Q&A' started by Dom, Nov 20, 2004.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Dom

Dom F1 Veteran
    Owner Rossa Subscribed

Nov 5, 2002
    #1 Dom, Nov 20, 2004
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
    I did it!!! I installed new spark plug wires today in my GT4, so I thought I would post a few photos, and a description of the install. I am a Novice when it comes to mechanical stuff, so this is geared towards other's novices like myself who may hesitate to try something like this. I can confirm that this is an easy job. If I can do it, so can you.

I had done some searching on this in the archives, and it seems that there were a few people with 308's that were happy with the Accel brand of spark plug wires, which could be obtained cheaply ($~30) from your local pep boys, kragen, etc.

The set I used is the Accel Part #4040R. These are 8 mm wires, and work fine on the 308 cars. They use the radio supression core. They have the straight end boot, which fits right onto the plug extender on the 308 cars. I used my old extenders for now, until I can figure out where to get a set of new ones.

The two photos below show the box of spark plug wires, and the original wires on my car. If you look closely, you can see that the wires used on my car had a 90 degree boot (these were not the stock wires), and were wired underneath the engine mount. One wire was actually crushed underneath the mount.

(Continued in next post)
    Image Unavailable, Please Login

2. Dom

Dom F1 Veteran
    Owner Rossa Subscribed

Nov 5, 2002
    #2 Dom, Nov 20, 2004