Carlos Salaff Project Caden | FerrariChat

Carlos Salaff Project Caden

Discussion in 'Special Projects & Concept Cars' started by Carlos Salaff, Apr 27, 2015.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Carlos Salaff

Carlos Salaff Formula Junior

Apr 27, 2015
    LA |CLE |NYC
    Full Name:
    Carlos Salaff
    Hello,

My name is Carlos Salaff and I'm new to FerrariChat. I'm starting a build thread to share a project that's very special to me. Hopefully you will enjoy it, too.

My background is in Automotive Design. I worked at Mazda's Southern California design studio for 10 years and played a key role in the exterior design of the Mazda Ryuga, Nagare and Furai concept cars as well as production vehicles like the CX-7, Mazda 3 and new MX-5. In 2012, I left Mazda and began a new chapter: the formation of my own car company and design of my first car.

I have always loved 1960s through 80s-era racing and sports cars. Many of these cars were designed by small teams, crafted by hand, and functioned as raw, mechanical beasts. I am committed to carry on these values with my company and products.

My first prototype (named project Caden, after my son) has recently begun the fabrication phase. This is a momentous occasion for me. For the past three years I have been sketching, creating physical models, and working in the computer to develop and finalize my design. This has been primarily a solitary experience, until recently when I brought on several experienced craftsmen to help bring my dream from the digital world into reality.

Ohio-based Pete's Custom Coachbuilding is hand-forming the aluminum body panels, just like the early days of Pininfarina and Bertone. Metcalf Racing, a Texas-based shop specializing in the restoration and racing of vintage Formula, Indy, and prototype cars, is designing the pushrod suspension and is currently working on fabricating the aluminum monocoque chassis.