ferrari red | FerrariChat

ferrari red

Discussion in 'Technical Q&A' started by ferrariredwhichone, Apr 9, 2012.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. ferrariredwhichone

Apr 9, 2012
  2. Fast_ian

Fast_ian Two Time F1 World Champ

Sep 25, 2006
    Campbell, CA
    Full Name:
    Ian Anderson
    Hi,

My 02c; I wouldn't try using automotive paint on wood - It's generally considered a little too "hot", although I admit I have no experience with the guys linked above.

A quick trip to your your local hobby store will turn up plenty of options - Tamiya's X7 (from memory) is pretty close and comes in both rattle cans and jars. They also introduced a "bright mica red metallic - TS85" which is the same as they used on the F60 - It's a little "richer" and a tad darker, but may look really cool.

Post pix once it's done! Good luck,
    Cheers,
    Ian

3. ferrariredwhichone

Apr 9, 2012
    thanks Ian. what hobby store? where?
    i'm painting a guitar but i am told automotive paint should be just fine.

4. Fast_ian

Fast_ian Two Time F1 World Champ

Sep 25, 2006
    Campbell, CA
    Full Name:
    Ian Anderson
    Anyone that sells plastic model kits, radio control stuff etc. If you don't have one locally, there's many online places of course.

You're probably OK with auto paint, but a lot of it is pretty "nasty" to work with - Toxic, often needs a separate hardener and a booth to be done properly.

Cheers,
    Ian

5. bling5

bling5 Rookie

Mar 11, 2012
    use paint and varnish instead of aerosol.

6. Russ Gould

Russ Gould Formula 3

Nov 8, 2004
    Tamiya is acrylic ... not sure that's what you want.

I am going to paint my ashtray Rosso Corsa (the rest of the interior is black aside from the stripey Daytona seats) .. anyone have a line on a rattle can that comes close to Rosso Corsa?

7. thorn

thorn F1 Rookie
    Silver Subscribed

Aug 7, 2012
    Tallahassee, FL