360CS Starting issue.... Anybody like puzzles? | FerrariChat

360CS Starting issue.... Anybody like puzzles?

Discussion in 'Technical Q&A' started by Ingenere, Aug 3, 2016.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Ingenere

Ingenere F1 Veteran
    Owner Silver Subscribed

Dec 11, 2001
    On the Limit
    Full Name:
    Dino
    I have been chasing a 'hot start' problem in this car for a few years. The car would not restart (only solenoid click) after running the car for 15-20 minutes. Only after cooling down would the car start. The starter was replaced.... no change in symptoms. Starter relay was replaced..... no change. Recently, the alternator failed. After looking at a parts manual, I saw that a wire harness (213155) covers the starter and alternator as well as AC. I reasoned that in my earlier Ferraris (TR, 348) that developed 'hot start' issues, the problem was due to deteriorating wires that due to heat created increase resistance, dropping voltage, hence the problem. While replacing the alternator, I also replaced the harness. There are now different symptoms... Now the car will start and run fine from cold. Whether the car runs for 10 seconds or 5 hours, the car can be turned off and if a restart is attempted it does the following: With the finger continuously on the start button it cranks-stops-cranks-stops-cranks-stops and refuses to start. If it does start, it will be in 'limp mode' or half the engine will be running. The only code that came up as pending was 'crank position sensors'. I replaced them and that made no change. We are currently checking the battery (fine) and all grounds, but I doubt any of this will help. Has anyone seen a similar problem, or point me in the right direction to find a solution? I have spoken with a number of techs and nobody has heard of a 360/CS with a similar issue. Thanks in advance.

2. tazandjan

tazandjan Three Time F1 World Champ