(DFW) Old Pics from Green Valley Raceway | FerrariChat

(DFW) Old Pics from Green Valley Raceway

Discussion in 'Texas' started by DIGMAN52, Apr 2, 2007.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. DIGMAN52

DIGMAN52 F1 Rookie
    Owner Rossa Subscribed

Jan 30, 2004
    Dallas Texas
    Full Name:
    Philip C
    #1 DIGMAN52, Apr 2, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
    We cleaned out an old trailer with family stuff in it the other day, and came across my photos taken in the mid 60's when I was an aspiring assistant photographer on the Jr. High paper. My next door neighbor was the advertising rep for Amalie PRO Racing Oil, and they fielded a 2 car Team with Jerry Titus and Fred Van Buren (Mexico City) driving mustangs in the Trans Am Series. Back then the pits were just a bunch of station wagons and trucks pulling open trailers, no big rig setups like today. This race was in 1967, and it was a defining moment in my car history. I walked by a towncar, and the back door was open, and there was Dan Gurney sitting there. He could not have been nicer, and took the time with a kid, to tell me how he got started in racing. I of course joined his All American Racer's as soon as he started that club. The last pics is a professional one showing it as the closest race that year in Trans-Am, with Gurney beating teammate Parnelli Jones in their team Cougars. I am throwing in a couple of pics from the many drag races I attended there also. It was a no frills place where you walked across a narrow metal bridge to get in the pits. Crossing when the fuelers or funny cars were underneath was the best! I especially miss the radio ads spouting "SUNDAY SUNDAY SUNDAY_ GREEN VALLEY RACEWAY"
    Did anyone else here frequent the "Valley".
    Image Unavailable, Please Login

Acacg likes this.
  2. B.Ratcliff

B.Ratcliff Formula 3
    Owner

Sep 23, 2004
    Dallas, TX
    Full Name:
    B. Ratcliff