im scratch building a 156 sharknose | FerrariChat

im scratch building a 156 sharknose

Discussion in 'Recreations & Non-Period Rebodies' started by turbo-minivan, Feb 28, 2017.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. turbo-minivan

turbo-minivan Rookie

Feb 28, 2017
    hi, i am new here and hope that i can join your community without causing animosity over my project and my current ignorance. i am new to the European car world and am currently researching everything i can on the 61-62 Ferrari 156 sharknose.
    i am a Canadian back yard "hot rod" builder and have built 5 cars from scratch thus far and my latest undertaking is a replica 156. it is a replica (not a recreation) because of many factors, but namely the drive line. i know there are many purists out there so i hope to not cause quarrel by this, but i am using a 2003 Hayabusa engine. the entirety of the rest of the car i have been building from scratch from nothing more than photos and the meager specs i can find on line.
    im in my young 30s and am a father of young kids so i have a rather pathetic budget, but i am trying to produce something that not only looks historically exact, but that also will perform like a true track race car.
    my goal is to try and do in my home garage, what Ferrari was able to do with experts, but do it using todays technology and materials such as carbon fiber and aluminum, and my experience in building other cars and racers.
    i hope to be able to share some photos of the progress and learn as i go.
    i have an Instagram page dedicated to the build that you can look at if you like. @howisthatstreetlegal

i will post pictures soon.

2. turbo-minivan

turbo-minivan Rookie

Feb 28, 2017
    Thank you. I have seen and read these and have great respect for such an ambitious project!