My Giulia Qv... loving it so far | FerrariChat

My Giulia Qv... loving it so far

Discussion in 'Other Italian' started by Monch, Jul 31, 2017.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Monch

Monch Karting
    Silver Subscribed

Aug 29, 2012
    I’ve now had my Giulia Quadrifoglio for 6 weeks and a little over 1,000 miles. There have been many reviews, mostly good and some bad, and thought that I would provide my early impressions of the car. Now, keep in mind that I’m by no means a pro… driver, writer or otherwise. Also note that this is my first Alfa and don’t consider myself an Alfa “fanboy”. I’m just an enthusiast whose had a few nice sports cars and am looking for the ultimate daily driver.

It was with a rather large amount of anxiety and trepidation that I purchased this car. We’re all aware of the less than stellar reliability history of Alfas, especially being a brand new model and all the niggles that come with that. Being used to the early adopter issues with my Mclaren and intoxicated by the beauty of the car, I pulled the trigger. It was an emotional decision that I haven’t regretted yet.

The Giulia QV is an amazing car. The steering is subline. Very direct, responsive and communicative. I do wish the steering wheel was a hair thicker, but that’s nitpicking. The car feels very well planted and flat in the turns. It inspires great confidence and no drama when pushed. The suspension is firm yet compliant in the soft settings. Dialing in the dynamic or race mode stiffens it significantly. Soft setting is not available in Race mode, so one can either have a great sounding exhaust OR soft suspension. It would be nice to have separate suspension, exhaust and traction control settings. My ideal setting would be Dynamic mode with soft suspension and open exhaust. I am considering a remote exhaust valve controller to address this issue.