how fast can my 3.4L 308 go around Road Atlanta. going soon! | FerrariChat

how fast can my 3.4L 308 go around Road Atlanta. going soon!

Discussion in 'Tracking & Driver Education' started by Ferraripilot, Jun 28, 2013.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Ferraripilot

Ferraripilot F1 World Champ
    Owner Project Master

May 10, 2006
    Atlanta
    Full Name:
    John!
    #1 Ferraripilot, Jun 28, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
    Hey all, getting excited here. Heading to Road Atlanta to either the late July or late August session which Chin Motorsports runs.

So how fast do you think a pro can get her around? Warning, I am NOT a pro, I just watch entirely too much F1 and have driven Road Atlanta a couple times already in other cars. I am pretty handy at heal and toe'ing and know the Road Atlanta line pretty well for whatever that's worth.

about the machine:

76 308GTB

-272bhp with 225lbs torque at the wheels, naturally aspirated (330ish at the crank)

-weight: 2800lbs with about half tank
    -QA1 shocks with 450lbs front springs and 400lbs rear (will be installed in a couple weeks which is why I'm not quite sure which session I will run yet!)
    -stock brakes but with Porterfield pads and Motul fluid (hey, makes a difference)
    -hard suspension bushings
    -stock sway bars
    -16" wheels with Bridgestone Pole position tires (prepared to be destroyed)

I figured if I can get close to 1:40 I will be very happy. What do the pros here think.
    Image Unavailable, Please Login

2. don_xvi

don_xvi F1 Rookie

Nov 1, 2003
    Outside Detroit
    Full Name:
    Don the 16th
    I'm going in at 1:47.

3. Ferraripilot

Owner Project Master

May 10, 2006
    Atlanta
    Full Name:
    John!
    A spec Miata can do a 1:44ish, I'm pushing much better power to weight so I hope I'm at least a few seconds quicker.