Brake Pads for street/track? | FerrariChat

Brake Pads for street/track?

Discussion in 'Tracking & Driver Education' started by GaryR, Nov 11, 2014.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. GaryR

GaryR Formula 3

Dec 11, 2006
    Valencia, Spain
    Full Name:
    Gary R.
    I'm a big proponent of Performance Friction for my 911 race car but know zip about good pads for the 360. I'd like a pad that grips well cold and gets better hot, doesn't squeal like a stuck pig on the street..

Thanks!

2. Rifledriver

Rifledriver Three Time F1 World Champ

Apr 29, 2004
    Austin TX
    Full Name:
    Brian Crall
    Call Martin at Giro Disc. He knows the cars and brakes are all he does.

360-306-3263

3. Zcobra1

Zcobra1 Formula 3

Oct 9, 2012
    So Cal
    Full Name:
    Bert
    I have no experience with them, but Stoptech Street Performance pads are
    only $60 per axle shipped on Fleabay....about as inexpensive as you can get.
    I called Stoptech and talked to Eric and he claimed a MOT of 1300, I do find
    that hard to believe, but according to him they do OK on light tracking use.

At that pricing it sounds like a almost no risk situation, keep your old pads,
    slap these on and monitor at the track. If they burn up, you have old pads to get home.

A lot cheaper than Ferrari/Brembo pads by far.....

4. GaryR

GaryR Formula 3

Dec 11, 2006
    Valencia, Spain
    Full Name:
    Gary R.
    Thank you Brian and Bert, I will look into both options..

5. Zcobra1

Zcobra1 Formula 3

Oct 9, 2012
    So Cal
    Full Name:
    Bert
    Ferodo ds2500 have good write ups as a street able track pad, but run 3x as much
    As the Stoptech units.
    I used Carbotech 10/8 on my C5 Z06, a similar weight and speed car as our 360,
    they are very good on the track, but can be pretty squeaky on the street.
    Cold brake power was great on those, to avoid noise,