575M Turbo ? | FerrariChat

575M Turbo ?

Discussion in '456/550/575' started by ZeEN, Jun 19, 2008.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. ZeEN

ZeEN Formula Junior

Jun 2, 2007
    Turkey
    Full Name:
    Eren
    A friend of mine wants to turbocharge his '02 575M F1 anyone seen like that project? main problem is i think not much space for the turbo.i told him stay with the nitro but i want to hear your suggestions.

Thanks...

2. dsd

dsd F1 Rookie
    Owner Silver Subscribed

Nov 19, 2006
    Northern Virginia
    I am not a mechanic so keep that in mind.

Won't NOS deteriorate the engine components and that will get expensive fast.

My only other thought is why.

-dsd

3. mwhitesell

mwhitesell Formula 3

Sep 17, 2006
    Atlanta
    Full Name:
    Mark
    I think either one sounds kind of stupid on that engine.

4. Pcar928fan

Pcar928fan Formula 3

Jan 21, 2008
    Austin, TX
    #4 Pcar928fan, Jun 19, 2008
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2008
    Most people should not be allowed to drive cars with the stock HP of a 575, let alone what one with Turbo's or NOS might make (at least for one 1/4 mile pass before it blew up anyway)... Ferrari like Porsche build their engines to a HP point that allows the engine to last a reasonable amount of time before it needs to be rebuilt. Start adding HP and you take away hours of fun on the road! Some might argue that you make it up w/ more fun due to the added HP, but at the level of the 550/575 (or to a lesser extent 911Turbo's) all you are doing is wasting rubber by burning off your rear tires every time you get on it... That is no fun...

YMMV!
    James
    Austin, TX

5. gatorgreg

gatorgreg Formula 3
    Silver Subscribed

Dec 13, 2004
    NAPLES