Are Challenge Cars Street-legal? | FerrariChat

Are Challenge Cars Street-legal?

Discussion in 'Challenge/GT Cars/Track' started by DavidSB, Dec 10, 2008.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. DavidSB

DavidSB Karting

Jan 11, 2008
    I'm new to the Ferrari world and thought the only street-legal Challenge cars are the 360 CS. However, I notice photos in this thread of other Challenge cars with license plates and mention of driving their cars to/from the track. Were other models sold as street legal?
    David

2. rob lay

rob lay Administrator
    Staff Member Admin Miami 2018 Owner

Dec 1, 2000
    Southlake, TX
    Full Name:
    Rob Lay
    No, but a few modify enough back from Challenge Rules to sneak by registered for street, but I doubt any are 100% street legal no matter what country you are from. Sometimes for local shows wish I could just drive it over a few miles instead of the loading-unloading-loading-unloading routine. However, I don't anything much more dangerous than driving a roll caged car without a helmet.

3. Oceanic815

Oceanic815 Formula 3

Apr 30, 2008
    Central Oregon
    Boy am I glad someone asked if they're street legal or not. I love the Challenge Cars sub cat too, BTW.

So, if the 348 Challenge cars were street cars modified to track use in the Challenge Series, would they not be easier to put back to a street legal form than say a F430 Challenge car?

4. gatorgreg

gatorgreg Formula 3

Dec 13, 2004
    NAPLES
    1995 and older were street cars modified at the dealers.

5. Dr.T348

Dr.T348 Formula 3

Jan 8, 2004
    Chicago NW Burbs
    Full Name:
    Richard T.