Sticky linkage in 328 | FerrariChat

Sticky linkage in 328

Discussion in '308/328' started by [email protected], Mar 21, 2009.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. tim@timmikel.com

Mar 21, 2009
    Ventura, CA
    Full Name:
    Tim Mikel
    Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this chatroom. I look forward to discussing topics with you!

I have a 1989 328 GTS with about 30K miles. Especially when it's warm, the throttle seems to stick at high revs far above idle. I've tried carb cleaner to no avail. Dry graphite on the linkage seems to work best, but it is only a temporary solution. Has anyone else experienced this and has a solution?

Thanks for any help!

Tim

2. CliffBeer

CliffBeer Formula 3

Apr 3, 2005
    Seattle, Washington
    Full Name:
    Cliff
    Perhaps try a little WD-40 on the throttle linkage joints. Carb cleaner is good but it doesn't have any lubricating qualities. WD-40 will tend to break down accumulations of corrosion which graphic generally won't do. One silly suggestion, make sure the floor mats aren't partially laying on top of the throttle pedal or binding the mechanism somehow.

3. chrmer3

chrmer3 Formula 3

May 19, 2006
    USSA
    Full Name:
    Chris
    Dumb question-
    Have you checked the floor mat by the gas pedal? Its not called italian cruise control for nothin

4. mike996

mike996 F1 Veteran

Jun 14, 2008
    Full Name:
    Mike 996
    I gotta tell this story...